Extended Audio Sample

Download North and South Audiobook (Unabridged)

Extended Audio Sample North and South (Unabridged), by Elizabeth Gaskell
4.67 out of 54.67 out of 54.67 out of 54.67 out of 54.67 out of 5 4.67 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Elizabeth Gaskell Narrator: Clare Wille Publisher: Naxos AudioBooks Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Coming Soon! We're adding audiobooks daily and hope to make this one available for download very soon. Submit your vote below to let us know you really crave this title!
Vote this up! This audiobook has 0 votes

When Margaret Hale moves with her father from the comfort of the south of England to the industrial north, she is at first repulsed by what she sees; and then when she discovers the conditions under which the workers are forced to live, she is outraged. But this throws her into direct conflict with the powerful young mill-owner, John Thornton. Using personal passions to explore deep social divisions, North and South is a great romance and one of Elizabeth Gaskell's finest works.

Download and start listening now!

BK_NAXO_000554

Listener Opinions

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by Bodagirl | 5/22/2011

    " It's a great book for any reader who is looking for a read-alike to Pride and Prejudice. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Cranberrycuppycakes | 5/22/2011

    " one of the best period novels i've read :) "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by Sarah | 5/12/2011

    " While I already knew the storyline of this book, I absolutely loved reading it. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by Becca | 5/11/2011

    " This book and the BBC miniseries is my least obsession. If you like Pride & Prejudice, you'll love this book and movie. "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Narrator

Clare Wille has been working as an actress and voice-over artist since graduating from the Royal Academy of Dramatic Art in 1997. Her recent theater work includes Seeing Without Lightand Look Back in Anger. She has starred in a number of television series, such as Swinging, Broken News, and Girls in Love, and has made appearances in Vital Signs, Life Begins, All About Me, Where the Heart Is, and Doctors. Most recently, she played Pru in Housewife 49 and DS Rachel Dawson in Heartbeat.