Extended Audio Sample

Download North and South Audiobook (Unabridged)

Extended Audio Sample North and South (Unabridged), by Elizabeth Gaskell
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 4.00 (36,833 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Elizabeth Gaskell Narrator: Juliet Stevenson Publisher: AudioGO Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: September 2009 ISBN:
Coming Soon! We're adding audiobooks daily and hope to make this one available for download very soon. Submit your vote below to let us know you really crave this title!
Vote this up! This audiobook has 2 votes

Set in the context of Victorian social and medical debate, this novel is about rebellion, posing fundamental questions about the nature of social authority and obedience. This revised edition draws on recent theoretical work on gender and class. Download and start listening now!

BK_BBCW_002471

Listener Opinions

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jane | 2/18/2014

    " Interesting themes of mutiny in this - at first glance - rather soppy book about love in a gritty Northern town. But there is more to it than that. The father mutinies against the established church, the brother mutinies on board his ship, the mill workers go on strike and the main characters fight against love. Great psychological stuff. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Memmis | 2/1/2014

    " I'd wanted to read this for a reaaally long time, and it was awesome. I can't believe how much I fangirled while reading it. I'm really glad that, even though I've watched the mini-series a couple of times ("a couple"), I still got excited about every little thing. It gave me lots of feelings. I enjoyed it thoroughly. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Amy | 1/22/2014

    " This is book is so good! Read it. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 ☽ Moon ☯ 佛月球 Будда Луны | 1/18/2014

    " North and South, as a novel about love caught in the strings of differences, torn apart by modernity and tradition, of upbringing and experiences, of the aristocratic rule and the rise of the commoners, accentuated by the striking contradictions between the masculine role and the feminine role in society, might as well be entitled simply as The Man and The Woman or perhaps, The Industrial City and The Provincial Vicarage or more aptly, Of Liberty and Slavery as Elizabeth Gaskell composes with captivating eloquence the extraordinary love story of Margaret Hale and John Thornton, vividly disentangling a society built in clashing contradictions, where the peaceful serenity of the southern suburbia meets the smoky, bustling city of the Industrial north, painting a picturesque dissection of her time that reflects the conditions of a world thereafter."Your Union in itself would be beautiful, glorious---it would be Christianity itself---if it were but for an end which affected the good of all, instead of that of merely one class as opposed to another." Perhaps, one of the most important elements in Gaskell's narrative, which can be considered striking, is her ability to expostulate at the same time harmonize the differing perceptions to the benefit of all, not just shown through the closure of the rift between Margaret and Thornton as they are bound by their fervent passion, but in the same manner, it provides an edification worthy of illumination as Gaskell shows the power of love and compassion, its enigmatic ability to change people directly or even indirectly towards the understanding of all, as North and South is not just a simple love story between a man and a woman, nor an eccentric love and hate story between the master and his people especially reflected with the relationship between Thornton and the staunch Union leader Nicholas Higgins, but most importantly, it is a story of love in its sacred unification, the kind of love that can melt even those with the hearts of stone as Gaskell defines it in its Utopian form that should exist amongst all men regardless of who and what they are. ☾☯ "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Tina | 1/15/2014

    " My love for North and South goes back a few years to a summer I spent in England. I was dreadfully sick for several days and confined to my host's house--so she took the opportunity to deluge me in all things British. One such British treasure she shared with me was the BBC's film rendition of Elizabeth Gaskell's North and South. As an avid Jane Austen fan, I found the storyline and themes to be very similar to my favorite author's work. The story centers around a strong female lead, Margaret Hale, who is pushed outside of her comfort zone and familiar lifestyle as a result of her father's change in career. One thing I particularly appreciated about Gaskell's story as opposed to an Austen work is that the reader sort of develops as the character does. I felt much more of a connection with Margaret than I ever have with Elizabeth. I also liked that this book was written in third person omniscient, which delved more in-depth into the thoughts of each character and gave me a better overview of everything as it was happening. Like any non-contemporary piece, the language and style of writing is an adjustment at first, but once you're used to the flow, the story flows nicely. As an end note, I would highly recommend watching the BBC film after reading the book. It's really a fantastic and accurate portrayal of the study. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Melissa | 1/12/2014

    " I realy like the book. It was a realy good story. When I wrote this I only read the first 19 chapters after finishing all 60 I must say it was butter then I expected and the end was perfect. Though I know it was unfinished I must say that anymore would have destercted from the story. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Eleni | 12/29/2013

    " the story is very nice and the tv adaptation was great too...!! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Bookworm R | 10/25/2013

    " I just couldn't get into this book. Part of the dialogue was hard to slog through. I did find Margaret's life interesting to follow, but some of the details were slow to read through. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Monique | 9/9/2013

    " Meh.....it was recommended as a "if you like Pride and Prejudice, you'll like this". Can't say any of the characters really stood out for me. It was an okay read that fell short of expectations. The main characters can't really compare to Elizabeth Bennett and Mr. Darcy. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Deborah Borges | 9/17/2012

    " Amazing story!!! The way Mr. Thornton loves Magaret is beautiful!! And, for a History teacher like me, is an amazing view of the industrial revolution period. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Rebecca | 4/27/2012

    " This was a darker Pride & Prejudice but I really enjoyed it. BBC made a great mini series from this book. I just wish the book had ended as well as the mini series did. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Velvet | 1/1/2012

    " So far, I'm at the part where Mr. Thornton is hanging out with mom and sis...Pretty good so far! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Cbringhurst | 12/28/2011

    " This might be blasphemy, but I think I liked this one better the Pride and Prejudice. It is in the same time period, and I just love the story. It also shows more than just the higher class, it also shows the workers, and I really enjoyed their story. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Jb34 | 12/11/2011

    " It was a bit slow-moving, especially since I'd seen the movie before. However, the book enhanced the movie so much when I watched it again! I've heard this compared to Pride and Prejudice, but it's a much deeper class warfare than that. You can't get much better than Thornton and Margaret. *sigh* "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Stephanie | 9/9/2011

    " Oh, I loved it! Sort of slow at times, so I did some skimming. But the story was wonderful and so romantic. I just added the movie to my Netflix queue. Can't wait to see it! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Bodagirl | 5/22/2011

    " It's a great book for any reader who is looking for a read-alike to Pride and Prejudice. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Cranberrycuppycakes | 5/22/2011

    " one of the best period novels i've read :) "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Sarah | 5/12/2011

    " While I already knew the storyline of this book, I absolutely loved reading it. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Becca | 5/11/2011

    " This book and the BBC miniseries is my least obsession. If you like Pride & Prejudice, you'll love this book and movie. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Jennifer | 5/5/2011

    " Reading this again with PEMBERLEY LADIES. LOVE it! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Bridget | 5/4/2011

    " Second half of the book was better than the first. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Christina | 5/4/2011

    " Loved the story and the characters. And loved the BBC movie! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Molly | 5/2/2011

    " 19th century romance + labor relations = right up my alley. Some of the religious sentiments carried on too much, but I thoroughly enjoyed it. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations