Extended Audio Sample

Download North and South Audiobook (Unabridged)

Extended Audio Sample North and South (Unabridged) Audiobook, by Elizabeth Gaskell
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 4.00 (36,960 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Elizabeth Gaskell Narrator: Flo Gibson Publisher: Audio Book Contractors Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: August 2007 ISBN:
Coming Soon! We're adding audiobooks daily and hope to make this one available for download very soon. Submit your vote below to let us know you really crave this title!
Vote this up! This audiobook has 0 votes

Against a background of industrial unrest, misery, suspicion, jealousy, and the deaths of family and dear friends, the star-crossed love between mill owner John Thornton and the cultivated Margaret Hale is put to the test. Download and start listening now!

BK_ADBK_000033

Listener Opinions

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Drucilla | 2/18/2014

    " The background and setting for this book is remarkable. The industry is described with such color. If you're a fan of Dickens, but perhaps don't like the depressing nature some of his novels take, you should try this book. I will admit everything seems to be rushed towards the end, but everything works out. Oh, and if you like this book, be sure to read Shirley by Charlotte Bronte. It has similar themes to this book. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Stacy | 2/14/2014

    " Loved the book and loved the movie as well. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 DeAnn | 2/8/2014

    " Loved it...did move a little slow at times but loved the development of the characters and the human interaction. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Kirk | 1/19/2014

    " 2nd reading. Still loved the story, didn't enjoy the storytelling as much as the first time. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Sashedblue | 12/28/2013

    " Elizabeth Gaskell is like Jane Austen punched with grit and realism. I love this book. It is comparable to Pride and Prejudice in terms of the relationship (mucho misunderstandings) but wow. Just wow. It is absolutely beautiful, heart-wrenching, and yet somehow happy. A favorite for sure. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Beth | 11/30/2013

    " the Movie is better than the book. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Stacey O'driscoll | 11/22/2013

    " amazing. johm thornton - yummy! i want him all. to myself. i cannot believe what margaret said to him when he was proposing, but i forgive her, she seen sense in the end :) "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Mindy | 11/16/2013

    " She really knows how to draw out the suspense. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Wagga Library | 11/10/2013

    " Oh, how I love this book! Like Jane Austen only better.... "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Sue Schwab | 10/11/2013

    " If you love Pride and Prejudice you will love this Elizabeth Gaskell book! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Karren | 6/12/2013

    " I had seen the BBC / A&E series, but loved the book! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Cynthia Dunn | 5/8/2013

    " I wish I could give it more than five stars! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Anne | 12/10/2012

    " i'm a sucker for this type of novel. I read it when my son was reading it for Higher English and was surprised at how much I enjoyed it! (more than he did I suspect!!) "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 NL | 2/29/2012

    " similar love story principle as Pride & Prejudice: wrong first impressions, then guy loves girl, then girl loves guy, then both understand each feelings and live happily forever. But loved it nonetheless. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Melissa | 11/13/2011

    " Really good book. But don't fool yourselves, this is not Jane Austen. So for those of you reading it to get the same feeling that you got when you read Pride and Prejudice, just go read Pride and Prejudice again. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Heather | 6/26/2011

    " Finally got around to reading this Gaskell classic, and it did not disappoint. Excellent. (Grade: "B+".) "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Katie | 5/27/2011

    " I liked this book, but it was so long! It wrapped up in the last couple pages, and after reading the book for so long, I thought I deserved a little longer on the happy ending. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Nour Almalki | 5/25/2011

    " Try new things you MIT find something you like better ... "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Bodagirl | 5/22/2011

    " It's a great book for any reader who is looking for a read-alike to Pride and Prejudice. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Cranberrycuppycakes | 5/22/2011

    " one of the best period novels i've read :) "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Sarah | 5/12/2011

    " While I already knew the storyline of this book, I absolutely loved reading it. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Becca | 5/11/2011

    " This book and the BBC miniseries is my least obsession. If you like Pride & Prejudice, you'll love this book and movie. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Jennifer | 5/5/2011

    " Reading this again with PEMBERLEY LADIES. LOVE it! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Bridget | 5/4/2011

    " Second half of the book was better than the first. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Christina | 5/4/2011

    " Loved the story and the characters. And loved the BBC movie! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Molly | 5/2/2011

    " 19th century romance + labor relations = right up my alley. Some of the religious sentiments carried on too much, but I thoroughly enjoyed it. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Elizabeth Gaskell

Elizabeth Gaskell (1810–1865) was an English novelist and short-story writer born in London and raised in Knutsford, Cheshire, which became the model for village settings in her novels. In 1832 she married William Gaskell, a Unitarian minister. Her first novel, Mary Barton, published in 1848, was immensely popular and brought her to the attention of Charles Dickens, who solicited her work for his periodical, Household Words, for which she wrote the series subsequently reprinted as Cranford.