Extended Audio Sample

Download Night Watch Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Night Watch Audiobook, by Linda Fairstein Click for printable size audiobook cover
3.00085984522786 out of 53.00085984522786 out of 53.00085984522786 out of 53.00085984522786 out of 53.00085984522786 out of 5 3.00 (1,163 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Linda Fairstein Narrator: Barbara Rosenblat Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: July 2012 ISBN: 9781101538432
Regular Price: $22.50 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $18.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

In her thirteen bestsellers, Linda Fairstein has taken millions of fans inside sinister worlds that most of us can’t even imagine. Thanks to her extensive experience as a New York City prosecutor, she creates situations that are stunning for both their compulsive readability and their authenticity. Taking Alexandra Cooper into the fascinating world of New York City’s most beloved and storied restaurants, Night Watch continues her tradition of breathtaking suspense storytelling. 

Forty-eight hours after Alexandra Cooper arrives in France to visit her boyfriend and famed restaurateur, Luc Rouget, her vacation in paradise is cut short when a young woman from the village is found murdered. The only evidence discovered on the body is one of Luc’s matchboxes promoting his new restaurant in New York. But before the investigation begins, Alex is summoned back to New York to handle a high profile case. 

Mohammed Gil-Darsin, the distinguished and wealthy Head of the World Economic Bureau, has been arrested and accused of attacking a maid in his hotel.  As the world watches in fascination to see how the scandal will unfold, Alex finds her attention torn between preparing the alleged victim to testify and a murder case with ties too close to home. A second body is found with Luc’s matchbox—this time in Brooklyn—and Alex begins to fear that the two cases may not be as unrelated as she thought, and that uncovering the sordid secrets of the city’s most wealthy and powerful could cost her and her loved ones everything they hold dear.

Download and start listening now!

BK_PENG_001915

Quotes & Awards

  • The Queen of Intelligent Suspense. Lee Child
  • Linda Fairstein is one of my favorite writers....her stories never fail to thrill. Karin Slaughter
  • [Linda Fairstein] delivers another compelling story with her latest book, Night Watch. Fairstein, a former prosecutor in the Manhattan district attorney's office, knows her stuff. Her insider knowledge brings a realistic feel to the proceedings…Fans of "Law and Order: Special Victims Unit" will enjoy the behind-the-scenes perspective. Associated Press
  • Alex Cooper is a fascinating heroine...based on the equally fascinating life of her creator. O, The Oprah Magazine
  • Fairstein’s extensive prosecutorial experience adds authenticity to this thrilling procedural, a tasty soufflé of escargot, Beaujolais, cocaine, and murder that will entice the author’s many fans. Library Journal
  • The historical facts sprinkled with the compelling crimes and characters create a worthwhile read that fans of the Law and Order TV series will savor. After finishing Silent Mercy, readers will eagerly seek out her other novels. Associated Press on Silent Mercy
  • With Night Watch, both devotees and new readers alike will delight at the return of Alex Cooper and her professional partners and close friends Mike Chapman and Mercer Wallace Vineyard Gazette
  • Long before sex crimes became everyday fictional fare on America's favorite cop shows, Linda Fairstein was in court and on the streets working ripped-from-the-headlines cases. USA Today
  • A real winner from a legal-thriller master…Fairstein is on a roll with her Alexander Cooper series—and it’s likely to continue here. Booklist (starred review)
  • Fairstein is superbly attuned to the sinister vibes of the famous, as well as forgotten, New York City locales. Maureen Corrigan, NPR.org
  • Fans will be hungry for this; look for the eight- to ten-city tour. Library Journal

Listener Opinions

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Evelyn | 2/14/2014

    " Although I didn't like this book as much as previous ones on the series, it was still good. I always learn something from them. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Georgiana Huizenga | 2/13/2014

    " Another great addition to the series. Alex is involved in two murders: one in France and one in New York. Is her fiance Luc involved? One of the things that I really like about this series is the historical information. In this case, it talks about the background of the legendary restaurant, "21". A lot of infirmation about the restaurant business as well. This series just gets better and better! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Colleen | 2/4/2014

    " I always look forward to new books in this series and greatly enjoyed this one and look forward to the next one. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Devon | 1/19/2014

    " A decent addition to the series. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Harriet | 1/13/2014

    " I enjoyed this book mainly because it gave me insight into the true story it was taken from. It caused me to google the events of Dominique Strauss-Kahn and the hotel housekeeper. I read today that he was cleared of gang-rape charges in a case in France but his wife kicked him out of their apartment and his political life is over. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Pat | 1/10/2014

    " Hhhg "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Marge | 1/6/2014

    " I look forward to rnew book every year, love the characters and the history lessons. This was disappointing, Alex was not her normally strong self, the "case" was ripped right from the headlines and the "victim" was not at all likeable. Way too much Luke, hope he stays in France and Alex moves on. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Carole | 1/2/2014

    " Always like her books "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Christina | 12/23/2013

    " Not the smartest or savviest work of detective fiction I've ever read but an easy, fun read and entertaining enough that I read the entire thing. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Leslie Angel | 10/22/2013

    " 3.5--has some good twists, some interesting restaurant business details. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Jane | 10/5/2013

    " why is mc so desperate for a boyfriend? "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Tammy | 7/10/2013

    " I really enjoyed the next chapter in Coop's life. It was interesting for her to be on vacation when murder happens and how they all connect together. I always enjoy the banter with the cops. Good read. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Jen Shapiro | 6/6/2013

    " Not her best. Some good twists and turns, but lacking in the NY history I usually love from Fairstein. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Debbie | 4/18/2013

    " Not Linda Fairstein's best but enjoyed the history of 21 Club. Usually get more charater development with this author. As a Mahattanphile I enjoy her inside scoop on NYC landmarks. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Lorie | 4/2/2013

    " Interesting developments for Alex and Luc - wonder what will happen... Alex's home team is there for her. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Diane | 3/31/2013

    " It was ok read not great not real challenging I'll try an earlier book "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Vionna | 2/24/2013

    " She always keeps here characters fresh - Alexandra Cooper and her cohorts take on a maybe-rape case as well as solving wrong doings in the food industry. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Barb | 10/13/2012

    " Good read if you like mysteries. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Stephanie | 10/2/2012

    " I always like her books because the characters are great - this was not as good as others. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Jane Gruber | 8/1/2012

    " Really enjoyed the story and characters! I loved the details of the restaurant industry. This is the first book that I've read from this author--looking forward to reading more! "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Judy | 7/10/2012

    " I have all of the books in this series. Think I'm getting kind of tired of the characters. She does try to keep the events current but the characters just don't seem interesting anymore. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Linda Fairstein

Linda Fairstein, one of America’s foremost legal experts on crimes of sexual assault and domestic violence, led the Sex Crimes Unit of the District Attorney’s Office in Manhattan for over twenty-five years. A fellow of the American College of Trial Lawyers, she is a graudate of Vassar College and the University of Virginia School of Law. She is the author of the internationally acclaimed Alexandra Cooper novels, many of which have appeared on the New York Times bestseller list. One of the novels in the series, The Deadhouse, won the Nero Wolfe Award for Best Crime Novel of 2001 and was also chosen as a best book of 2001 by both the Washington Post and the Los Angeles Times.

About the Narrator

Barbara Rosenblat, one of the most awarded narrators in the business, was selected by AudioFile magazine as one of the Golden Voices of the Twentieth Century. She has received the prestigious Audie Award multiple times and has earned fifty-four AudioFile Earphones Awards. She has also appeared in film, television, and theater, both in London’s West End and on Broadway.