Download Mumbet's Declaration of Independence Audiobook

Mumbets Declaration of Independence Audiobook, by Gretchen Woelfle Extended Sample Click for printable size audiobook cover
Author: Gretchen Woelfle Narrator: Susie Berneis Publisher: Dreamscape Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: February 2015 ISBN: 9781633796041
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book)
Regular Price: $12.95 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $9.95$7.95$7.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Everybody knows about the Founding Fathers and the Declaration of Independence in 1776, but the founders weren’t the only ones who believed that everyone had a right to freedom. Mumbet, a Massachusetts slave, believed it too. She longed to be free, but how? Would anyone help her in her fight for freedom? Could she win against her owner, the richest man in town? Mumbet was determined to try.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “A slave named Mumbet, who successfully sued for her own freedom in 1781 Massachusetts, is the subject of this powerfully told biography.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • “Woelfle’s narrative skillfully keeps Mumbet at center…and her appended notes and references offer opportunities for discussing nuances in the history of American slavery.”

    New York Times Book Review

  • “Elizabeth Freeman, known by the name of Mumbet, was a slave in Massachusetts for nearly thirty years. This biography focused on the story of how she gained her freedom in 1781 by successfully using the new Massachusetts state constitution to make a legal case that she should be free…Young readers should be able to read the brief text independently. This is good biographical material for libraries and schools.”

    Children’s Literature

  • “Woelfle, keeping her young audience in mind, keeps it simple, wisely focusing on Mumbet. A life devoted to freedom and dignity, worthy of praise and remembrance.”

    Kirkus Reviews

Listener Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!
Write a Review

About the Author

Gretchen Woelfle is the author of many books for young readers, including Write On, Mercy! The Secret Life of Mercy Otis Warren, and Jeannette Rankin: Political Pioneer, which also told the stories of pioneering women in American history.

About the Narrator

Susie Berneis is a professional voice-over artist. She has a BA in English and theater from the University of Michigan and more than twenty years of community theater experience. Her audiobook narrations include The Secret of Raven Point by Jennifer Vanderbes, which won an AudioFile Earphones Award in 2014.