Extended Audio Sample

Download Mogworld Audiobook (Unabridged)

Extended Audio Sample Mogworld (Unabridged) Audiobook, by Yahtzee Croshaw
3.00083125519535 out of 53.00083125519535 out of 53.00083125519535 out of 53.00083125519535 out of 53.00083125519535 out of 5 3.00 (1,203 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Yahtzee Croshaw Narrator: Yahtzee Croshaw Publisher: Open Book Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: September 2012 ISBN:
Coming Soon! We're adding audiobooks daily and hope to make this one available for download very soon. Submit your vote below to let us know you really crave this title!
Vote this up! This audiobook has 0 votes

Jim's a rather crabby fellow. Awakened from his tranquil deathly slumber after a mere 60 years by a pesky necromancer, he's suddenly thrust into a world that's in dire straits. Trouble is he wants nothing to do with heroics and would just prefer to be dead again and not be bothered with this nonsense. But that's not going to happen since he's living in an online multiplayer video game. Jim, the unlikeliest and most unwilling of heroes, finds himself faced with seemingly insurmountable odds that include a body that's falling apart (literally and not just figuratively), wave after wave of angry enemies to fight, and game programmers that are frantically attempting to beat a deadline to debug the game. And the fact that his ragtag team consists of an incompetent thief and a handful of pokey corpses that have seen better days doesn't help things in the least...

Mogworld is a hilariously brilliant parody of the world of MMORPGs (massively multiplayer online role-playing games) and the debut novel from Yahtzee Croshaw, a well-known gaming enthusiast/writer/reviewer and the creator of "Zero Punctuation". With biting wit, a gift for the truly absurd, and a twisted sense of humor he weaves a uniquely entertaining story that evokes the style of great authors like Terry Pratchett.

In a world full to bursting with would-be heroes, Jim couldn't be less interested in saving the day. His fireballs fizzle. He's awfully grumpy. Plus, he's been dead for about 60 years. When a renegade necromancer wrenches him from eternal slumber and into a world gone terribly, bizarrely wrong, all Jim wants is to find a way to die properly, once and for all.

On his side, he's got a few shambling corpses, an inept thief, and a powerful death wish. But he's up against tough odds: angry mobs of adventurers, a body falling apart at the seams and a team of programmers racing a deadline to hammer out the last few bugs in their AI.

Mogworld is a comic fantasy novel in the tradition of Douglas Adams and Terry Pratchett, and is the debut novel from video-game icon Yahtzee Croshaw (Zero Punctuation).

Download and start listening now!

BK_OPEN_000062

Listener Opinions

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Chris Foote | 2/17/2014

    " Mogworld wasn't a bad book. Certainly entertaining, and one of the better "popcorn" books I've read in a while, but nothing brain-smashingly incredible either. I just kind of left it going on my back burner for a while. When I finally finished it, I smiled, chuckled a bit, and moved on. The characters in the book are amusing and interesting, even if they do eventually become a bit predictable. Slippery John, the so stupid he's a genius rogue, was probably the funniest character. The one thing I really wasn't a fan of was how deaths were handled. Character death, especially that of important characters, felt kind of off-handed and unimportant, even for characters that I really liked. The premise of the books is great, though, and I'd definitely recommend it for any MMO expats or nerds getting ready to go on a cruise. That's what people do on cruises, right? Read? "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Daniel Daggett | 2/15/2014

    " If you like Zero Punctuation, I think you will like this book. It's about an NPC in a video game and his adventures trying to delete himself from the game. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Erica | 2/15/2014

    " Wasn't awful, it just happened to start off with its best parts, leaving the 2nd half to be quite lackluster compared to the first. I was laughing throughout so there is no lack of typical "Yahtzee" cynicism and all his descriptions and comparisons, much like in Zero Punctuation, are spot on hilarious. Not an amazing read but for his first book I was pleased. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Gaia | 2/4/2014

    " I love this book! It's a very funny story, written by Yahtzee Croshaw, who also does a web series about video games, called Zero Punctuation. If you like his humour there, you'll like this book. There are lots of references to video games, which I loved. It is also a good fantasy story on its own. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Annelize | 1/27/2014

    " I had a BLAST reading this. ^_^ The concept is a lot of fun, the plot trotted along nicely, and the characters are interesting. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Aramis | 1/21/2014

    " A pretty good fantasy read with some neat ideas. The storytelling is solid though I think the early chapters need a little editing. The humor is uneven ranging from lots of mildly smileworthy moments to one scene that had me actually LOLing in public. Reminds me a bit of early Pratchett. Hopefully we'll see more from Yahtzee as his writing matures and improves. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 kevin | 1/18/2014

    " Great fun at first, but got tedious about a third through and halfway through I just didn't care anymore and stopped reading. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Ken | 1/17/2014

    " The back of the book ruins some of the concept that you otherwise would only suspect as you read the first hundred pages. The story felt a bit long and at times the humor came too often, but overall, it was a fun lampoon on traditional fantasy novels that even I, having never played an MMO before, could enjoy. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Aaron | 1/16/2014

    " I should note that if you loved 'Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy', or Terry Pratchet, you'll love this book as well. Since I found those underwhelming, I didn't like this one much either. I did like the second half better, once it become more of a normal book. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Scott | 1/8/2014

    " Well-written and hilarious. The ending was not what one would expect and your mileage may vary. Definitely worth reading if you are at all familiar with MMO concepts. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 James | 12/28/2013

    " Very very funny if you love gaming. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Wil | 12/27/2013

    " I don't play MMORPGs extensively. The playtime I have racked up leads me to believe that there's a lot more humor and depth here for the avid MMORPG player. That said, the book was decent and contained quite a bit of wit. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Kat | 12/3/2013

    " I wholeheartedly enjoyed this book. It has Yahtzee's characteristic humor, an interesting and fun plot, and great characters that I really became invested in. I also loved some of the sutler touches, like the location names. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Elizabeth | 9/21/2013

    " 3.25 instead of 3. "I am never going to have conversations with files I might have to delete again." :) "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Henrik | 8/3/2013

    " A funny and creative book, it even has a twist at the end ^^ "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Teri | 7/11/2013

    " entertaining book...i had quite a few laughs in it..charactors are very likable...Jim, Meryl, Thaddeus, and ya gotta kinda like Mr Wonderful :)... but it was also a book that was just too easy to put down, almost to the point of "Do I really want to keep reading this?" But i finished it.. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Robert Dufalo | 4/17/2013

    " It was alright, there was some rather slow parts and it really didn't have any big wow to the story. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Steven | 4/2/2013

    " Great book. In my top ten "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Dave Story | 10/18/2012

    " Although I have never played an on-line RPG, I am a fan of fantasy and tabletop RPGs, so I don't think I missed much (if any) of the inside humor of the book. Nonetheless, like the protagonist, this story sometimes 'had legs' and sometimes didn't. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 John Ohrt | 9/27/2012

    " Really enjoyed this book. Not the best writing, But definitely excellent for first book. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations