Extended Audio Sample

Download Mogworld Audiobook (Unabridged)

Extended Audio Sample Mogworld (Unabridged), by Yahtzee Croshaw
3.00083125519535 out of 53.00083125519535 out of 53.00083125519535 out of 53.00083125519535 out of 53.00083125519535 out of 5 3.00 (1,203 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Yahtzee Croshaw Narrator: Yahtzee Crosha Publisher: Open Book Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Coming Soon! We're adding audiobooks daily and hope to make this one available for download very soon. Submit your vote below to let us know you really crave this title!
Vote this up! This audiobook has 0 votes

Jim's a rather crabby fellow. Awakened from his tranquil deathly slumber after a mere 60 years by a pesky necromancer, he's suddenly thrust into a world that's in dire straits. Trouble is he wants nothing to do with heroics and would just prefer to be dead again and not be bothered with this nonsense. But that's not going to happen since he's living in an online multiplayer video game. Jim, the unlikeliest and most unwilling of heroes, finds himself faced with seemingly insurmountable odds that include a body that's falling apart (literally and not just figuratively), wave after wave of angry enemies to fight, and game programmers that are frantically attempting to beat a deadline to debug the game. And the fact that his ragtag team consists of an incompetent thief and a handful of pokey corpses that have seen better days doesn't help things in the least...

Mogworld is a hilariously brilliant parody of the world of MMORPGs (massively multiplayer online role-playing games) and the debut novel from Yahtzee Croshaw, a well-known gaming enthusiast/writer/reviewer and the creator of "Zero Punctuation". With biting wit, a gift for the truly absurd, and a twisted sense of humor he weaves a uniquely entertaining story that evokes the style of great authors like Terry Pratchett.

In a world full to bursting with would-be heroes, Jim couldn't be less interested in saving the day. His fireballs fizzle. He's awfully grumpy. Plus, he's been dead for about 60 years. When a renegade necromancer wrenches him from eternal slumber and into a world gone terribly, bizarrely wrong, all Jim wants is to find a way to die properly, once and for all.

On his side, he's got a few shambling corpses, an inept thief, and a powerful death wish. But he's up against tough odds: angry mobs of adventurers, a body falling apart at the seams and a team of programmers racing a deadline to hammer out the last few bugs in their AI.

Mogworld is a comic fantasy novel in the tradition of Douglas Adams and Terry Pratchett, and is the debut novel from video-game icon Yahtzee Croshaw (Zero Punctuation).

Download and start listening now!


Listener Opinions

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 by Chris Foote | 2/17/2014

    " Mogworld wasn't a bad book. Certainly entertaining, and one of the better "popcorn" books I've read in a while, but nothing brain-smashingly incredible either. I just kind of left it going on my back burner for a while. When I finally finished it, I smiled, chuckled a bit, and moved on. The characters in the book are amusing and interesting, even if they do eventually become a bit predictable. Slippery John, the so stupid he's a genius rogue, was probably the funniest character. The one thing I really wasn't a fan of was how deaths were handled. Character death, especially that of important characters, felt kind of off-handed and unimportant, even for characters that I really liked. The premise of the books is great, though, and I'd definitely recommend it for any MMO expats or nerds getting ready to go on a cruise. That's what people do on cruises, right? Read? "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Daniel Daggett | 2/15/2014

    " If you like Zero Punctuation, I think you will like this book. It's about an NPC in a video game and his adventures trying to delete himself from the game. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 by Erica | 2/15/2014

    " Wasn't awful, it just happened to start off with its best parts, leaving the 2nd half to be quite lackluster compared to the first. I was laughing throughout so there is no lack of typical "Yahtzee" cynicism and all his descriptions and comparisons, much like in Zero Punctuation, are spot on hilarious. Not an amazing read but for his first book I was pleased. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by Gaia | 2/4/2014

    " I love this book! It's a very funny story, written by Yahtzee Croshaw, who also does a web series about video games, called Zero Punctuation. If you like his humour there, you'll like this book. There are lots of references to video games, which I loved. It is also a good fantasy story on its own. "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations