How to Be a Girl in the World Audiobook, by Caela Carter Play Audiobook Sample

Download How to Be a Girl in the World Audiobook

How to Be a Girl in the World Audiobook, by Caela Carter Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $17.95
$7.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
OR
Regular Price: $23.99 Add to Cart
Author: Caela Carter Narrator: Jesse Vilinsky Publisher: Quill Tree Books Audio Length: Release Date: August 2020 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9780063006768

Publisher Description

From the critically acclaimed author of the ALA Notable and Charlotte Huck Honor Book Forever, or a Long, Long Time comes a poignant coming-of-age novel about the complicated parts of growing up, finding your voice, and claiming your space. Perfect for fans of Rebecca Stead, Laurel Snyder, or Ali Benjamin!

Lydia hasn’t felt comfortable in her own skin since the boys at her school started commenting on the way she looks in her uniform. Her cousin and friends think she should be flattered, but the boys—and sometimes her mom’s boyfriend, Jeremy—make Lydia uncomfortable and confused. Even more confusing is when Jeremy hovers too close and hugs a little too long.

Then her mom surprises her by buying a dilapidated house in their neighborhood. Lydia hopes to find a little bit of magic in their new home. But just like the adults in her life, and God, and her friends, the magic Lydia deeply believes in eventually loses its power to keep her safe.

And as seventh grade begins, Lydia wonders: Is there a secret to figuring out how to be a girl in the world?

Download and start listening now!

Quotes

  • “This ambitious novel covers significant, rarely explored ground…]An] urgent read set in the fading #MeToo era, this is sure to ignite mother-daughter book club debates.”

    - Kirkus Reviews
  • “The uneasiness Lydia feels with unwanted male attention and peers who suggest that she should covet it sends a powerful message about the male gaze and the importance of individual consent.”

    - Publishers Weekly
  • “Timely, brave, and bold…This book is more than special—it is vital. Readers will feel seen and heard—the truest gift a book can give us.”

    - Corey Ann Haydu, author of Eventown

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!

About the Author

Caela Carter is an author of books about teens and children. She grew up in Baltimore, MD and Basking Ridge, NJ. Caela teaches at-risk kids and teens in alternative education programs. She has an MFA in Writing for Children from the New School in New York. Her previous books include Me, Him, Them, and It and My Best Friend, Maybe for teenagers and My Life with the Liars for middle grade readers. She lives in Brooklyn with her husband and her puppy.

About the Narrator

Jesse Vilinsky is a classically trained actress and voice actor, having graduated from the USC School of Dramatic Arts and BADA in London. She has lent her voice to numerous film and television projects and has worked on various video games, animation, and commercial projects as well. As a narrator, Jesse has garnered recognition in AudioFile magazine for her expertly voiced characters and ability to bring forth the strength and truth of their stories.