Extended Audio Sample

Download How Sex Works: Why We Look, Smell, Taste, Feel, and Act the Way We Do Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample How Sex Works: Why We Look, Smell, Taste, Feel, and Act the Way We Do, by Sharon Moalem Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (308 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Sharon Moalem, Sharon Moalem MD Narrator: Oliver Wyman Publisher: HarperCollins Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $21.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $16.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

“Read this book and discover sex again, but from a scientific perspective, and see why it evolved. It’s almost as much fun, and needs less energy.”
— Peter Macinnis, author of 100 Discoveries: The Greatest Breakthroughs in History

"How Sex Works manages to inject science writing with the prurient thrill of a gossip rag."
O magazine

Medical maverick and New York Times bestselling author of Survival of the Sickest Dr. Sharon Moalem presents an insightful and engaging voyage through the surprising history and evolution of sexual reproduction. Fans of Freakonomics, Blink, You: The Owner’s Manual, and Why Do Men Have Nipples will find many engaging insights in How Sex Works.

Download and start listening now!

BK_HARP_001853

Quotes & Awards

  • “Moalem makes evolution sexy and sex astonishing. If you’ve ever been surprised by either your body or your heart, this book will probably tell you why.”

    Kinney Zalesne, New York Times bestselling coauthor of Microtrends

  • How Sex Works is a must-buy for anyone interested in the ins and outs of why, psychologically and biologically, sex is about much, much more than the mere birds and bees.”

    Nancy Redd, New York Times bestselling author of Body Drama 

  • “Packed with trivia about the evolutionary history, intricate mechanics, and nitty-gritty mysteries of sex, sexual organs, and desire, Sharon Moalem’s How Sex Works manages to inject science writing with the prurient thrill of a gossip rag.” 

    O, The Oprah Magazine

  • “Sharon Moalem’s new book goes far beyond the typical ‘birds and bees’ sex talk. The neurogeneticist delves deep into human sexuality and comes to some surprising conclusions.”

    Daily Beast

  • “Read this book and discover sex again, but from a scientific perspective, and see why it evolved. It’s almost as much fun and needs less energy.”

    Peter Macinnis, author of 100 Discoveries: The Greatest Breakthroughs in History

  • “An engaging synthesis of scientific research on why we humans experience our sexuality the way we do.”

    Rachel P. Maines, PhD, author of The Technology of Orgasm: “Hysteria,” the Vibrator, and Women’s Sexual Satisfaction 

  • “Moalem writes fluidly for the general reader, and when he necessarily goes into graphic detail, he does it gracefully.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • “A volume stuffed with information that avoids getting bogged down in difficult medical terms or complex biological concepts...An accessible presentation of sex not just as a necessary means to protect our species but also a vital part of a culture structured around love and pleasure.”

    Kirkus Reviews

Listener Opinions

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 by Natasha | 2/18/2014

    " A good overview of sex and things related to sex. It did suffer from being too much of an overview. The book isn't long and is in larger print. Besides all that, it was an interesting and humorous book that still managed to be informative. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 by Ocha | 2/13/2014

    " This was a very interesting short book on the subject of sex. While some of the newest research I have already read before thanks to the news media, there was enough in there that was new or obscure to keep my interest. A good coffee table book or something to check out from the library. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 by Jessica | 2/11/2014

    " A bit of a slow read, as it is full of scientific jargon, but fascinating nonetheless. Full of interesting tidbits and information, written in a style that is both scientific and medical, but also easy to understand. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 by Megan | 1/25/2014

    " Fascinating stuff on why we're attracted to some people and not others (often for genetic reasons); and all this other cool genetic stuff. "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations