Extended Audio Sample

Download H.G. Wells Collected Science Fiction: The Time Machine & Stories of the Unusual Audiobook (Unabridged)

Extended Audio Sample H.G. Wells Collected Science Fiction: The Time Machine & Stories of the Unusual (Unabridged) Audiobook, by H. G. Wells
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 4.00 (1 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: H. G. Wells Narrator: Ralph Cosham Publisher: Commuter's Library Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: December 2004 ISBN:
Coming Soon! We're adding audiobooks daily and hope to make this one available for download very soon. Submit your vote below to let us know you really crave this title!
Vote this up! This audiobook has 0 votes

This is H.G. Wells at his best, delving into fantastic and strange worlds. The Time Machine, perhaps Wells' best known work, tells the story of the first time traveler. In the distant future the human race has evolved into two beings: the gentle Eloi and their dreaded cousins, the Morlocks, masters of the underworld.

From Stories of the Unusual:
The Country of the Blind takes place in a hidden valley where it would seem that a man with sight would be king.
The Diamond Maker tells of a fortune that might have been.
The Man Who Worked Miracles recounts the problems of defying nature.
In Aepyornis Island, a man has a special relationship with a prehistoric bird.
The Strange Orchid tells of the macabre appetite of an exotic plant.
The Cone is a shocking story of revenge.
The Purple Pileus deals with a life-altering fungus.The Truth About Pyecraft is a classic that explains why an overbearing fat man wears lead underwear.
The Door in the Wall captures the pathos of lost youth.

Download and start listening now!


Listener Opinions

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Fou | 8/23/2009

    " The Island of Dr. Moreau by H.G. Wells (2009) "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author

H. G. Wells (1866–1946), born in Bromley, Kent, England, was apprenticed to a drygoodsman and a druggist before he made his way to the Royal College of Science where he studied biology. Known as the father of science fiction, he was also a prolific writer in other genres, including contemporary novels, history, and social commentary. As a spokesman for progress and peace, his middle period novels (1900–1920) were more realistic and covered lower-middle-class life, suffrage, and the emergence of feminist ideals that pushed against the limits set by male-dominated society.

About the Narrator

Ralph Cosham (1936–2014), a.k.a. Geoffrey Howard, was a British journalist who changed careers to become a narrator and screen and stage actor. He performed in more than one hundred professional theatrical roles, and several of his narrations were named “Audio Best of the Year” by Publishers Weekly. He won seven AudioFile Earphones Awards, and in 2013 he won the coveted Audie Award for Best Mystery Narration for his reading of Louise Penny’s The Beautiful Mystery.