Download Doctor Who: The Mind of Evil Audiobook

Doctor Who: The Mind of Evil Audiobook, by Don Houghton Extended Sample Click for printable size audiobook cover
Author: Don Houghton Narrator: Jon Pertwee, Richard Franklin, A Full Cast Publisher: BBC Format: Audio Theater Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Series: The Doctor Who Series Release Date: February 2009 ISBN:
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book)
Coming Soon! We're adding audiobooks daily and hope to make this one available for download very soon. Submit your vote below to let us know you really crave this title!
Vote this up! This audiobook has 0 votes

A dangerous adventure begins for the Doctor and Jo Grant when they visit Stangmoor Prison for a demonstration of the new Keller Machine. The device is said to extract negative emotions from convicted prisoners, leaving them pacified and reformed. But when it apparently goes wrong, a far more sinister purpose is revealed …

The Doctor’s old enemy, the Master, is behind the machine, working in conjunction with an alien mind parasite. As unrest builds amongst Stangmoor’s prisoners, the Master takes control, his ultimate aim to hijack a deadly missile and threaten the World Peace Conference taking place in London. As Brigadier Lethbridge-Stewart leads UNIT in the defense of both the missile and Stangmoor, the Doctor and Jo must fight to stay alive and help avert a third world war!

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • The Mind of Evil can be summed up with just two words: often overlooked…The Mind of Evil is clearly one of the classic series’ best-directed pieces…As a story, The Mind of Evil is a real watershed for Jon Pertwee’s Doctor, who discernibly starts to let go of the Earthbound angst that characterized his first season….It’s not hard to see why Katy Manning cites this story as being her favorite Doctor Who adventure; it’s definitely one of her character’s best. Edgy, stylish, topical, and remarkably prescient, The Mind of Evil is one of my firm favorites, too.”

    E. G. Wolverson,

  • “This production is a 1971 script from the original British TV series, using narration to replace the visuals. The script itself is ‘quite dry,’ as narrator Richard Franklin, who appeared in the original, notes in an accompanying interview. But Franklin brings it to life with energy and humor. Minor bits such as the Doctor grinning at a security camera get hilarious treatment...Fans will love it.”


  • “Seemingly immortal, fifty years old and still running, this engaging, imaginative sci-fi/fantasy series is awarded an Institutional Peabody for evolving with technology and the times like nothing else in the known television universe.”

    The Peabody Award Committee

  • This television series has earned a Peabody Award

Listener Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!
Write a Review

About the Author

Dan Houghton (1930–1991) was a British television screen writer. Born in Paris, he started writing for radio in 1951 before moving into film and television in 1958. He is best known for his work on Doctor Who, for which he wrote the serials “Inferno” and “The Mind of Evil.”

About the Narrators

Richard Franklin is best known for playing Captain Mike Yates in the hit BBC television series Doctor Who. He reprized the role for the twentieth-anniversary special, The Five Doctors, and the thirtieth-anniversary adventure, Dimensions in Time. Franklin also wrote The Killing Stone, a spin-off novel featuring Mike Yates.

Louis L’Amour (1908–1988) was an American author whose Western stories are loved the world over. Born in Jamestown, North Dakota, he was the most decorated author in the history of American letters. In 1982 he was the first American author ever to be awarded a Special National Gold Medal by the United States Congress for lifetime literary achievement, and in 1984 President Reagan awarded him the Medal of Freedom, the highest civilian honor in the nation. He was also a recipient of the Theodore Roosevelt Rough Rider Award.