Extended Audio Sample

Download Death in Brittany Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Death in Brittany, by Jean-Luc Bannalec Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Jean-Luc Bannalec Narrator: Jean Brassard Publisher: Blackstone Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Commissaire Dupin Series Release Date:
Regular Price: $19.95 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Commissaire Georges Dupin, a Parisian-born caffeine junkie recently relocated from the glamour of Paris to the remote (if picturesque) Breton coast, is not happy when he is dragged from his morning croissant and coffee to the scene of a curious murder. The local village of Pont-Aven—a sleepy community by the sea where everyone knows one other and nothing much seems to happen—is in shock. The legendary ninety-one-year-old hotelier Pierre-Louis Pennec, owner of the Central Hotel, has been found dead.

A picture-perfect seaside village which played host to Gauguin in the nineteenth century, Pont-Aven is at the height of its tourist season and is immediately thrown into an uproar. Dupin and his team identify five principal suspects, including a rising political star, a longtime friend of the victim, and a wealthy art historian. An obstinate detective whose unconventional methods include good food, good wine, and taking in plenty of sea air, Dupin finds his case further complicated when ongoing incidents compound the mystery. As he delves further into the lives of the victim and the suspects, he uncovers a web of secrecy and silence that belies the village’s quaint image.

A delectable mystery, Death in Brittany transports listeners to the French coast, where you can practically smell the sea air and taste the perfectly cooked steak-frites.

Download and start listening now!

c0zo

Quotes & Awards

  • “Roll over Maigret. Commissaire Dupin has arrived.”

    M. C. Beaton, New York Times bestselling author

  • “Jean-Luc Bannalec…has channeled his affection for the westernmost region of France into a charming first mystery.”

    New York Times Book Review

  • “Bannalec excels at plotting and pacing, as well as vivid descriptions of the Finistère countryside.”

    Publishers Weekly (starred review)

  • “The pseudonymous author brings the charming Breton towns of Concarneau and Pont-Aven to life with his vivid descriptions of the landscape, architecture, and regional food…An excellent choice for readers who enjoy international mysteries as well as for fans of Donna Leon, Louise Penny, and Georges Simenon.”

    Library Journal (starred review)

  • “A setting to die for…Dupin is fascinating to watch…The star of the mystery, though, is Brittany.”

    Booklist (starred review)

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations