Extended Audio Sample

Download Dead Man's Grip Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Dead Mans Grip Audiobook, by Peter James Click for printable size audiobook cover
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 4.00 (1,065 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Peter James Narrator: Jamie Glover Publisher: Macmillan Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Roy Grace Series Release Date: November 2011 ISBN: 9781427213341
Regular Price: $26.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $18.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Carly Chase is still traumatized ten days after being in a fatal traffic accident that kills a teenage American student from Brighton University. Then she receives news that turns her entire world into a living nightmare. The drivers of the other two vehicles involved have been found tortured and murdered. Now Detective Superintendent Roy Grace of the Sussex Police Force issues a stark and urgent warning to Carly: She could be next.

The student had deadly connections. Connections that stretch across the Atlantic to America and an organized crime group. Someone has sworn revenge and won't rest until the final person involved in that fateful accident is dead. The police advise Carly her only option is to go into hiding and change her identity. The terrified woman disagrees. She knows these people have ways of hunting you down anywhere. If the police are unable to stop them, she has to find a way to do it herself. But already the killer is one step ahead of her, watching, waiting, and ready.

Peter James' Dead Man's Grip is a chilling psychological thriller.

Download and start listening now!

BK_AREN_001334

Quotes & Awards

  • “Possibly the most engrossing thriller since The Silence of the Lambs. Washington Post Book World on Dead Like You

  • Sinister and riveting . . . Peter James is one of the best British crime writers, and therefore one of the best in the world. Lee Child on Dead Like You
  • A terrific thriller . . . Dead Like You is a haunting page-turner that seamlessly blends psychological suspense with police procedure, echoing the heart and voices of such authors as P. D. James and Ian Rankin at their best. Jeffery Deaver on Dead Like You
  • Peter James creates worlds as familiar as your backyard, but doubly spicy, smart, and entertaining. Danger and drama leap from every page, as the master delivers precisely what every reader wants: plenty of sizzle and emotional clout. Dead Like You makes for a terrific read. Don't miss this one. Steve Berry on Dead Like You
  • U.S. readers deserve to know what the rest of the world has known for years--Peter James is one of the best crime writers in the business. Karin Slaughter on Dead Like You
  • Thrilling . . . will leave readers eager for the next installment. Publishers Weekly on Dead Like You

  • “Once you pick this one up, good luck putting it down. It’s a brisk, smart, nerve-rattling read.”

    Booklist

  • “What sets James apart is his extraordinary attention to detail and sheer authenticity of his police procedures. Dead Man’s Grip, an explosive tale of a fatal car crash with deadly international ramifications, finds him at the height of his powers.”

    Daily Mirror (London)

  • “Readers will come back begging for more after this exciting one. For fans of Lee Child and Jeffery Deaver.”

    Library Journal

  • “[Peter James’] stuff is clever, funny, morbid, and always entertaining. Page turners, every one.”

    Dayton Daily News

  • Winner of the 2012 Barry Award for Best British Novel

Listener Opinions

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Annie | 2/11/2014

    " Absolutely loved this one - the best in the series so far for me, and I loved the references to other books and characters (especially the taxi driver!) and thought the Roy Grace personal bits were wonderfully tantalising... "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Joe Noir | 2/6/2014

    " Found this at a public library book sale, and I had never heard of Peter James, but the blurb sounded cool and I liked the photo of Brighton Pier on the cover. It was a good read, fast moving, and built to a solid, realistic ending. Very satisfying. I have purchased several of the other novels in the series, and read Dead Like You which I felt was better than this one. Always entertaining, though. There is a tantalizing clue as to what became of Roy Grace's wife after she disappeared in this novel. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Iris | 1/28/2014

    " Love this series. Characters well rounded out.Can hardly wait for the next one. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Lee Cooper | 1/25/2014

    " Really enjoyed this story, great plot and love the main character Parker. I can't belive I have not heard of this author before so will be reading many more of his books. Have also discovered that he writes under several different names and has also written books in conjunction with the likes of Dennis Lehane and Lawrence Block. Certainly easy to switch of and get lost in the story. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Paul Curd | 1/11/2014

    " A policier that I found overburdened with procedure, I'm afraid. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Pam | 1/3/2014

    " This is the first book I have read by P. James. It was good enough to try another. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Lori | 11/15/2013

    " a british writer i just discovered, reminds me of lee child. liked this one and will definately track down some of his other stuff "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 JC | 10/31/2013

    " Another creepy Roy Grace mystery novel. Pretty impressive stuff that happens here and quite disturbing again. Carly, the main victim, has a lot of guts and is kind of stupid at times but Grace is right on the tail of a killer seeking revenge. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Kathleen Scott | 10/28/2013

    " one of my fav. authors "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jojo | 10/27/2013

    " Peter James never lets you down when you want a good read. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Cas Peace | 9/5/2013

    " Another great tale by this talented crime writer. I love all the books in the Roy Grace series. Peter James knows how to grip his readers and keep them transfixed until the end! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Hannah | 7/8/2013

    " Amazing! Absoutely brilliant. I would recommend this to anyone who loves mysteries! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Barbara | 5/4/2013

    " Cookie cutter Peter James, but pretty good just the same. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Vivian | 2/9/2013

    " Another fantastic read in the Roy Grace series which is my #1 favorite series, This one has so many twists and turns, the story line is believable and the characters extremely well written. The shocker at the end was very unexpected. I couldn't put this one down and I highly recommend it. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Enas | 9/27/2012

    " I love all Peter James books "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Don Gorman | 7/1/2012

    " This book moved really slow for the first half. I didn't think there was a chance in the world I would have given it four stars at that point but the second half was terrific. High speed, great intensity, really good stuff. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Sarah | 5/24/2012

    " It was a really good book. I'm defintely going to read another DS Grace book. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Lynn Kearney | 2/9/2012

    " 3.5 I like Roy Grace and these police procedurals. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Sally Lankester | 12/29/2011

    " Can't put this down ! Second book I've read in Roy Grace series and just as engrossed in it! "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Peter James

Peter James is the international bestselling author of the Roy Grace series with more than thirteen million copies sold all over the world. His novels have been translated into thirty-four languages and three have been filmed. All his novels reflect his deep interest in the world of the police, with whom he does in-depth research. He lives in England.

About the Narrator

Jamie Glover was trained at the Central School of Speech and Drama. He has appeared on stage in productions of The Cherry Orchard and Mother Tongue. His many radio credits include Ben Hur and Sherlock Holmes, and on television he has had roles in Brother Cadfael, The Broker’s Man, and Breaking Up. His film work includes Age of Treason, which was directed by Kevin Connor.