Extended Audio Sample

Download Dead Man’s Grip Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Dead Man’s Grip, by Peter James Click for printable size audiobook cover
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 4.00 (1,065 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Peter James Narrator: Jamie Glove Publisher: Macmillan Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Roy Grace Series Release Date:
Coming Soon! We're adding audiobooks daily and hope to make this one available for download very soon. Submit your vote below to let us know you really crave this title!
Vote this up! This audiobook has 1 votes

Carly Chase is still traumatized ten days after being in a fatal traffic accident that kills a teenage American student from Brighton University. Then she receives news that turns her entire world into a living nightmare. The drivers of the other two vehicles involved have been found tortured and murdered. Now Detective Superintendent Roy Grace of the Sussex Police Force issues a stark and urgent warning to Carly: She could be next. 

The student had deadly connections. Connections that stretch across the Atlantic to America and an organized crime group. Someone has sworn revenge and won't rest until the final person involved in that fateful accident is dead. The police advise Carly her only option is to go into hiding and change her identity. The terrified woman disagrees. She knows these people have ways of hunting you down anywhere. If the police are unable to stop them, she has to find a way to do it herself. But already the killer is one step ahead of her, watching, waiting, and ready.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “Once you pick this one up, good luck putting it down. It’s a brisk, smart, nerve-rattling read.”


  • “What sets James apart is his extraordinary attention to detail and sheer authenticity of his police procedures. Dead Man’s Grip, an explosive tale of a fatal car crash with deadly international ramifications, finds him at the height of his powers.”

    Daily Mirror (London)

  • “Readers will come back begging for more after this exciting one. For fans of Lee Child and Jeffery Deaver.”

    Library Journal

  • “[Peter James’] stuff is clever, funny, morbid, and always entertaining. Page turners, every one.”

    Dayton Daily News

  • Winner of the 2012 Barry Award for Best British Novel

Listener Opinions

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by Annie | 2/11/2014

    " Absolutely loved this one - the best in the series so far for me, and I loved the references to other books and characters (especially the taxi driver!) and thought the Roy Grace personal bits were wonderfully tantalising... "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 by Joe Noir | 2/6/2014

    " Found this at a public library book sale, and I had never heard of Peter James, but the blurb sounded cool and I liked the photo of Brighton Pier on the cover. It was a good read, fast moving, and built to a solid, realistic ending. Very satisfying. I have purchased several of the other novels in the series, and read Dead Like You which I felt was better than this one. Always entertaining, though. There is a tantalizing clue as to what became of Roy Grace's wife after she disappeared in this novel. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by Iris | 1/28/2014

    " Love this series. Characters well rounded out.Can hardly wait for the next one. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Lee Cooper | 1/25/2014

    " Really enjoyed this story, great plot and love the main character Parker. I can't belive I have not heard of this author before so will be reading many more of his books. Have also discovered that he writes under several different names and has also written books in conjunction with the likes of Dennis Lehane and Lawrence Block. Certainly easy to switch of and get lost in the story. "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations