Extended Audio Sample

Download Creativity, Inc.: Overcoming the Unseen Forces That Stand in the Way of True Inspiration Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Creativity, Inc.: Overcoming the Unseen Forces That Stand in the Way of True Inspiration, by Ed Catmull, Amy  Wallace-Havens Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Ed Catmull, Amy Wallace-Havens Narrator: Peter Altschuler Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $17.50 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $15.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

From Ed Catmull, cofounder (with Steve Jobs and John Lasseter) of Pixar Animation Studios, comes an incisive book about creativity in business—sure to appeal to readers of Daniel Pink, Tom Peters, and Chip and Dan Heath.

Creativity, Inc. is a book for managers who want to lead their employees to new heights, a manual for anyone who strives for originality, and the first-ever, all-access trip into the nerve center of Pixar Animation—into the meetings, postmortems, and “Braintrust” sessions where some of the most successful films in history are made. It is, at heart, a book about how to build a creative culture—but it is also, as Pixar cofounder and president Ed Catmull writes, “an expression of the ideas that I believe make the best in us possible.”

For nearly twenty years, Pixar has dominated the world of animation, producing such beloved films as the Toy Story trilogy, Monsters, Inc., Finding Nemo, The Incredibles, Up, and WALL-E, which have gone on to set box-office records and garner thirty Academy Awards. The joyousness of the storytelling, the inventive plots, the emotional authenticity; in some ways, Pixar movies are an object lesson in what creativity really is. Here, in this book, Catmull reveals the ideals and techniques that have made Pixar so widely admired—and so profitable.

As a young man, Ed Catmull had a dream: to make the first computer-animated movie. He nurtured that dream as a PhD student at the University of Utah, where many computer science pioneers got their start, and then forged a partnership with George Lucas that led, indirectly, to his founding Pixar with Steve Jobs and John Lasseter in 1986. Nine years later, Toy Story was released, changing animation forever. The essential ingredient in that movie’s success—and in the thirteen movies that followed—was the unique environment that Catmull and his colleagues built at Pixar, based on philosophies that protect the creative process and defy convention, such as:

  • Give a good idea to a mediocre team, and they will screw it up. But give a mediocre idea to a great team, and they will either fix it or come up with something better.
  • If you don’t strive to uncover what is unseen and understand its nature, you will be ill prepared to lead.
  • It’s not the manager’s job to prevent risks. It’s the manager’s job to make it safe for others to take them.
  • The cost of preventing errors is often far greater than the cost of fixing them.
  • A company’s communication structure should not mirror its organizational structure. Everybody should be able to talk to anybody.
  • Do not assume that general agreement will lead to change—it takes substantial energy to move a group, even when all are on board.
Download and start listening now!

b63k

Quotes & Awards

  • “Many have attempted to formulate and categorize inspiration and creativity. What Ed Catmull shares instead is his astute experience that creativity isn’t strictly a well of ideas but an alchemy of people. In Creativity, Inc. Ed reveals… how to realize a creative coalescence of art, business, and innovation.”

    George Lucas, National Medal of Arts award-winning film director

  • “A fascinating story about how some very smart people built something that profoundly changed the animation business and, along the way, popular culture…[Creativity, Inc.] is a well-told tale, full of detail about an interesting, intricate business.”

    Wall Street Journal

  • “Just might be the best business book ever written.”

    Forbes

  • “[Catmull] uses Pixar’s triumphs and near disasters to outline a system for managing people in creative businesses—one in which candid criticism is delivered sensitively, while individuality and autonomy are not strangled by a robotic corporate culture.”

    Financial Times (London)

  • “For anyone managing anything and particularly those trying to manage creative teams, Catmull is like a kind, smart godfather guiding us toward managing wisely, without losing our souls and in a way that works toward greatness.”

    Christian Science Monitor

  • “Unusually rich in ideas, insights, and experiences, the book celebrates the benefits of an open, nurturing work environment. An immensely readable and rewarding book that will challenge and inspire readers to make their workplaces hotbeds of creativity.”

    Kirkus Reviews

  • “To perform the fabulous storytelling that makes his advice come alive, the producers scored big by signing Peter Altschuler, a powerhouse of an actor and narrator who makes every concept clear, every sentence immensely entertaining. Being of a certain age, his mature timbre and relaxed cadence are perfect expressions of the perspective and wisdom that the author, a Disney-Pixar veteran, brings to this exceptional book. With graceful writing the author explains how creativity is nourished when leaders provide security, a trusting environment, and a clear bridge between the creative process and corporate interests. Winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award.”

    AudioFile

  • A New York Times Bestseller
  • One of Barnes & Noble's Biggest Books, April 2014
  • A Publishers Weekly Bestseller
  • A Library Journal Best Book of 2014
  • One of Audible’s Best Audiobooks of 2014 in Business
  • Finalist for the 2015 Audie Award for Best Business/Educational Narration
  • Winner of an AudioFile Earphones Award
  • A Huffington Post Best Book of 2014
  • A Financial Times Best Book of the Year for 2014
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations