Extended Audio Sample

Download Conductor's Guide to Brahms' Symphony No. 4 & Variations on a Theme by Haydn Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Conductors Guide to Brahms Symphony No. 4 & Variations on a Theme by Haydn Audiobook, by Gerard Schwarz
4.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 5 4.50 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Gerard Schwarz Narrator: Gerard Schwarz Publisher: Musically Speaking, Inc. Format: Original Staging Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: January 2006 ISBN:
Coming Soon! We're adding audiobooks daily and hope to make this one available for download very soon. Submit your vote below to let us know you really crave this title!
Vote this up! This audiobook has 0 votes

The more adventurous composers of the 19th century, such as Liszt, Chopin, and Berlioz, made use of the Classical forms and procedures, though often modifying them for their own purposes. And certain composers remained dedicated to the Classical heritage. None was more devoted to this than Johannes Brahms. Although Brahms was drawn to certain aspects of Romanticism, he developed a profound affinity to the musical thought of the great Austro-German composers of the preceding century: Bach, Haydn, Mozart, and Beethoven. In an era when his colleagues were exploring new modes of musical design, Brahms showed that sonata-form, fugue, and theme-with-variations still held great potential.

The Musically Speaking Conductor's Guides are your link to an appreciation of the greatest classical music ever performed. Let Maestro Gerard Schwarz enrich your classical music listening enjoyment by illuminating the great works of the Masters with revealing commentary and educational insight.

Download and start listening now!

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations