Extended Audio Sample

Download Come Back, Como: Winning the Heart of a Reluctant Dog Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Come Back, Como: Winning the Heart of a Reluctant Dog, by Steven Winn Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (5 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Steven Winn Narrator: Paul Hernandez Publisher: HarperCollins Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $18.99 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $14.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

Steven Winn and his wife, Sally, held out for as long as they could. When the San Francisco couple finally gave in to their only child Phoebe’s pleas for a dog, they adopted a scraggly terrier mutt from a local animal shelter. The new family pet, Como, turned out to hate men—especially the author—and proved to be a cunning escape artist. Traumatized, single-minded, and exceptionally clever, Como was bent on breaking Winn’s sanity and self-respect, his bank account, and his heart.

Come Back, Como is the story of one man’s hilarious and poignant quest to win the trust of a dog who wanted nothing to do with him. With humor and pathos, Winn describes the maddening but ultimately rewarding effects Como had on his family, the misadventures and ordeals and terrifying events he and his dog endured together, and the greatest lesson Como taught him: that loving a dog can make us more human.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “A delightful story about the joys and deeper meanings dogs bring into our lives.”

    Amy Tan, New York Times bestselling author

  • “Even people who don’t much care for dogs, and I am one, will be moved and entertained by Steven Winn’s story of pursuit and rejection and renewed pursuit between man and pooch. Its real subject, transcending species, is the struggle for understanding between minds and hearts.”

    Adam Gopnik, New York Times bestselling author

  • “Despite the title and the prominent photo of Como on the cover, this book is not really about a dog. It is about the family into whose days a dog comes, disrupting routine and challenging its members—especially Winn—at every turn.”

    San Francisco Chronicle

  • “The comical and heartwarming tale follows the Winn family’s struggles to win over their dog, and demonstrates the rewards they earned in the end.”

    Dog Fancy

  • “This well-told tale of pursuit amd rejection and ordeals endured is oddly inspiring and surprisingly smile-inducing. The author doesn’t flinch from revealing his own inept moments, nor does he pretend his heart wasn’t involved in the chase for Como’s affection. The book is a good reminder of the many ways dogs occupy our hearts and lives.”

    Bark magazine

  • “In this beautifully crafted memoir, prizewinning journalist Steven Winn chronicles the remarkable relationship between his family and the dog they rescued…An absolute must-read for any dog lover, or any fan of downright good writing.”

    Sacramento Book Review

  • “Tailor-made for fans of Marley & Me but with a happier ending, this is a funny, exciting, and often moving story of a man, his family, and their new dog: Como, the small, shaggy terrier with the big, shaggy personality.”


  • “As a man owned by a dog, I read this book with delight, merriment, and deep sympathy. And when I reached the most touching parts there was my dog’s head, in my lap—he knew I had a heart all along.”

    David Thomson, author of The New Biographical Dictionary of Film and Try to Tell the Story: A Memoir

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author

Steven Winn is an award-winning journalist and fiction writer who spent many years as a staff writer, critic, and frequent City Arts & Lectures interviewer at the San Francisco Chronicle. A Philadelphia native and founding staff member of Seattle Weekly, he held a Wallace Stegner Fellowship in fiction at Stanford University. His work has appeared in Good HousekeepingNational Lampoon, New York Times, Parenting, Prairie SchoonerSports Illustrated, and UTNE Reader. He lives with his family in San Francisco.