Extended Audio Sample

Download Classic Detective Stories, Volume 2 Audiobook (Unabridged)

Extended Audio Sample Classic Detective Stories, Volume 2 (Unabridged) Audiobook, by Bret Harte
3.25 out of 53.25 out of 53.25 out of 53.25 out of 53.25 out of 5 3.25 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Bret Harte Narrator: Various Publisher: Jimcin Recordings Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: February 2007 ISBN:
Coming Soon! We're adding audiobooks daily and hope to make this one available for download very soon. Submit your vote below to let us know you really crave this title!
Vote this up! This audiobook has 1 votes

This second collection of dramatized stories from the early days of detective fiction includes the following: The Stolen Cigar Case by Bret Harte; The Nicobar Bullion Case and The Affair of the Tortoise by Arthur Morrison; The Blood Red Cross by L.T. Meade and Robert Eustace; The Fatal Cipher by Jacques Futrelle; The Duchess of Wilshire's Diamonds by Guy Boothby; The Mystery of Mrs. Dickinson by Nick Carter; The Stolen White Elephant by Mark Twain; The Red-Headed League and The Adventure of the Noble Bachelor by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle; The Purloined Letter and The Murders in the Rue Morgue by Edgar Allan Poe; and Mr. Policeman and the Cook by Wilkie Collins. Download and start listening now!

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Bret Harte

Bret Harte (1836–1902) was born in Albany, New York, and was raised in New York City. He had no formal education, but he inherited a love for books. Harte wrote for the San Franciscan Golden Era paper. There he published his first condensed novels, which were brilliant parodies of the works of well-known authors, such as Dickens and Cooper. Later, he became clerk in the US branch mint. This job gave Harte time to also work for the Overland Monthly, where he published his world-famous “Luck of the Roaring Camp” and commissioned Mark Twain to write weekly articles. In 1871, Harte was hired by the Atlantic Monthly for $10,000 to write twelve stories a year, which was the highest figure paid to an American writer at the time.