Extended Audio Sample

Download Ballet for Martha: Making Appalachian Spring Audiobook (Unabridged)

Extended Audio Sample Ballet for Martha: Making Appalachian Spring (Unabridged), by Jan Greenberg
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (428 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Jan Greenberg Narrator: Sarah Jessica Parker, The Seattle Symphony conducted by Gerard Schwarz Publisher: Brilliance Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Coming Soon! We're adding audiobooks daily and hope to make this one available for download very soon. Submit your vote below to let us know you really crave this title!
Vote this up! This audiobook has 0 votes

In 1944 the modern American ballet Appalachian Spring premiered at the Library of Congress in Washington, D.C. The collaborators behind the performance anxiously awaited the critical response to their artistic achievement: Would the world understand what they had done?

In Ballet for Martha, the journey to this stage and the success shared among choreographer Martha Graham, composer Aaron Copland, and artist Isamu Noguchi is expressively captured by acclaimed children's book authors Jan Greenberg and Sandra Jordan. Together they tell the exceptional story of the collaborative efforts behind the creation of Appalachian Spring. Martha Graham, famous American dancer and pioneering choreographer, ignited the process with her innovative dance routines and desire to create a ballet that would represent America. With Martha's spirit and choreography in mind, Pulitzer Prize-winning composer Aaron Copland built upon the melodies of an old Shaker hymn to create the original score. He titled it simply Ballet for Martha. Upon Martha's request, artist Isamu Noguchi created the stage design for the ballet, using a simple and angular style that reflected the movements of Martha's choreography.

This story, first chronicled in the award-winning book, is now brought to life in an original audiobook production by Brilliance Audio. Acclaimed actress Sarah Jessica Parker captures the voices and emotions of Martha Graham, Aaron Copland, and Isamu Noguchi as they work together to produce the dance, score, and set of this beloved American ballet. Accompanying the narration is a full performance by the Seattle Symphony of the very score which fueled and inspired the ballet. Listeners will be delighted by the layered collaborations brought together in this audio production. From the three trail-blazing artists who labored to capture America through lyrical movement, lilting melody, and avant-garde design, to the literary, vocal, and orchestra... Download and start listening now!


Listener Opinions

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 by Shelby Rose Rogers | 2/8/2014

    " I honestly did not really get into the story, but I did love the pictures. This book covers the story of Martha Graham and her ballet that broke all the rules of the time. I would use this in my classroom library. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by Kate Narita | 1/29/2014

    " This is a magical book that not only celebrates three amazing artists: Martha Graham, Aaron Copland, and Isamu Noguchi, but transports you to their studios and ultimately to the premier of Appalachian Spring. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Allison | 1/25/2014

    " Very cool! I think Floca was a really good choice, even though it totally doesn't seem like it. I got a real sense of the ballet, AND it made me really want to see a performance of the ballet. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by Kristin | 1/22/2014

    " Reads almost as if it were written in verse. The prose is musical and has a cadence to it despite a lack of rhyme. A simple, eloquent book about realizing one's artistic vision. A good read-aloud for a music class. This is the type of book that will be just right for the right child. Probably not a lot of mass appeal for modern dance, but I think it will resonate deeply with those who connect with and understand it. "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations