Extended Audio Sample

Download Await Your Reply: A Novel Audiobook (Unabridged)

Extended Audio Sample Await Your Reply: A Novel (Unabridged) Audiobook, by Dan Chaon
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (7,616 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Dan Chaon Narrator: Kirby Heyborne Publisher: Phoenix Books Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: September 2009 ISBN:
Coming Soon! We're adding audiobooks daily and hope to make this one available for download very soon. Submit your vote below to let us know you really crave this title!
Vote this up! This audiobook has 0 votes

From the award-winning author of Among the Missing, Fitting Ends, and You Remind Me of Me, comes an ambitious, gripping, and beautifully written new novel about identity in the tradition of The Talented Mr. Ripley and Case Histories.

Three strangers who are trying to find their way in the wake of loss become entwined in an identity theft scheme, which has a resounding impact on them all.

Longing to get on with his life, Miles Cheshire nevertheless can't stop searching for his troubled twin brother, Hayden, who has been missing for ten years.

A few days after graduating from high school, Lucy Lattimore sneaks away from the small town of Pompey, Ohio, with her charismatic former history teacher. They arrive in Nebraska, in the middle of nowhere, at a long-deserted motel next to a dried-up reservoir, to figure out the next move on their path to a new life.

My whole life is a lie, thinks Ryan Schuyler, who has recently learned some shocking news. In response, he walks off the Northwestern University campus, hops on a bus, and breaks loose from his existence, which suddenly seems abstract and tenuous.

A gorgeously written psychological study, and a meditation on identity in the modern world, this is a literary novel with the haunting momentum of a thriller. Download and start listening now!

BK_PNIX_000405

Listener Opinions

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Patti | 2/15/2014

    " An interesting tale, but a bit too meandering and literary for me. Still, not bad. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 James Blatter | 2/3/2014

    " Emotionally powerful, a deep book on that level. If your thrillers need action skip it, if you want detailed feelings and subtle development that is powerful and effecting you'll enjoy "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Natalie | 1/27/2014

    " Not that great. The story is slow and choppy until about the last five chapters. The ending wasn't as shocking as I was made to believe and it lacks good closure. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Kurt von Wasmuth | 1/17/2014

    " I was thrilled to find a book that you really have to pay attention to. This story line will elude you if you do not really give it the attention it deserves. Having said that, this book did have a tendency to make me feel lonely and secluded as the characters are all dealing with identity issues and doing it in a very solitary way. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Amanda | 1/5/2014

    " I gave this book up after 50 pages. The writing was very good but the plot was dark and the characters were disturbing. Not what I was looking for. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Tara | 1/5/2014

    " I thought this book was really tough to get through. I kept waiting for the stories to come together and while they did in the last few minutes after 9 hours of discs, I felt let down despite the twist. Overall it felt like three disjointed novellas but I would give it four stars for the writing alone. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Timothy Hallinan | 1/4/2014

    " One of my best of 2009, a thriller on every level including metaphysical. AWAIT YOUR REPLY is a meditation on personal identity and the limits we construct around our notions of ourselves, masquerading brilliantly as a thriller. The last six to eight pages turned me inside out. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Joanie | 1/1/2014

    " Though I had it figured out part way through the book, it kept me interested and the ending was a bit of a surprise. An interesting stories about identities and modern technology. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Andrew | 12/20/2013

    " Intriguing and thrilling while written with precision. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Beata Bowen | 12/12/2013

    " So refreshing to read something well written for a change! Like a modern day Nabokov, Dan Chaon is a master of the subtle storytelling that unfolds gracefully and never disappoints. This is a very well written story about identity, loneliness and the need to connect. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Craig | 12/5/2013

    " A quick read, which means, of course that I couldn't put it down. Riveting, twisting and ultimately very entertaining. 4.5 stars. Nothing earthshaking here but a nice twist on identity and relationships in this novel . "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Nesha Eaton | 12/2/2013

    " Good Book club book. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Anita Simon | 5/3/2013

    " This book was amazing. I loved all the twists and turns! Can't wait to read another book by this author. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Deb | 3/11/2013

    " Didn't finish because I just didn't care about the characters. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jenny Shanahan | 3/1/2013

    " I was thoroughly intrigued by this novel's portrayal of a sociopath. It's not very realistic in terms the sociopath's effectiveness/success (no one could get away with THAT much), but I think Dan Chaon got the personality disorder right. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Alaine | 1/12/2013

    " interesting thriller about the ultimate identity thief-dark "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Lynne Sylvestre | 7/20/2012

    " I didn't like the ending!! Was actually mad when I realized I'd read the last page! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Isabelle Solal | 5/23/2012

    " It starts slowly, quietly, then spins faster and faster until the centrifugal force has you in its grip and you're hooked! An incredible book, not halfway between the short story and the novel but beyond both. I'm running out first thing and snapping up everything Dan Chaon has ever read. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Ayelet Waldman | 5/11/2012

    " This book is killer. I mean, seriously. Go buy it. NOW. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Alyssa | 5/5/2012

    " Loved this. I think I'm reading a bit much in this genre, though, as I predicted the ending... However, I would have been more upset if I had been wrong. Love, love, LOVED this book. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Merry | 3/2/2012

    " I'm crazy about Chaon and especially this book. Very complex story line. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 matt | 12/11/2011

    " The essence of a psychological thriller "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Kathleen Maguire | 11/10/2011

    " This book was super dark and a bit disturbing but I could not stop reading it. Plot lines converge beautifully in the end. I did see what was coming, which usually does not happen when I read books that end with a twist (duh!), but it did not take away from the fluid closure in the end. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Beth | 7/1/2011

    " I just couldn't get into this story right now.... I read up to page 50 and then stopped. I will keep it on my list of one to try again in the future though since I am interested in the concept of the stories being interconnected. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Kay | 6/30/2011

    " 3 stories interconnected - Heidi's book "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Sharron | 6/26/2011

    " The beginning of this book is captivating, then it dies a few times. The ending is useless. And the "unforeseen ways" the characters are connected is foreseeable by the half way point. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Rsh | 6/21/2011

    " haunting - liked "You remind me of me" better "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 June | 6/6/2011

    " Couldn't get into it so I didn't finish it. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Myrna | 6/6/2011

    " Rather fascinating.. it .took a while to become accustomed to the various characters and stories.
    It was an 'ok' read, even tho I stayed with it until the end; to me it was not one of the best. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Jane | 6/5/2011

    " one of the best books! although it is a little creepy! "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Karolyn | 6/5/2011

    " I just didn't care about the characters "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Alyssa | 6/4/2011

    " Not nearly as good as Chaon's YOU REMIND ME OF ME. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Rosebud | 6/2/2011

    " Creepy thriller told in a trio of stories, chapter by chapter leading to the end-a tangled web that only rolls on and on...and gave me nightmares. I wasn't fond of any of the characters so was glad to finish it. Interesting to think back on when I figured it out. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Dan Chaon

Dan Chaon is the acclaimed author of Among the Missing, which was a finalist for the National Book Award. He is also the author of You Remind Me of Me, which was named one of the best books of the year by the Washington Post, Chicago Tribune, San Francisco Chronicle, Christian Science Monitor, and Entertainment Weekly, among other publications. Await Your Reply was a New York Times Notable Book and appeared on more than a dozen best-of-the-year lists;. He has been a finalist for the National Magazine Award in Fiction and was the recipient of the 2006 Academy Award in Literature from the American Academy of Arts and Letters. He teaches at Oberlin College, where he is the Pauline M. Delaney Professor of Creative Writing.

About the Narrator

Kirby Heyborne is a musician, actor, and professional narrator. Noted for his work in teen and juvenile audio, he has garnered twenty-two Earphones Awards. His audiobook credits include Jesse Kellerman’s The Genius, Cory Doctorow’s Little Brother, and George R. R. Martin’s Selections from Dreamsongs.