Extended Audio Sample

Download An Instance of the Fingerpost Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample An Instance of the Fingerpost Audiobook, by Iain Pears
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (10,138 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Iain Pears Narrator: Paul Michael Publisher: Macmillan Audio Format: Abridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: March 2000 ISBN:
Coming Soon! We're adding audiobooks daily and hope to make this one available for download very soon. Submit your vote below to let us know you really crave this title!
Vote this up! This audiobook has 3 votes

An utterly compelling historical mystery, in the tradition of Umberto Eco and John Fowles. The setting is England in the 1660s. Oliver Cromwell's short-lived republic is a thing of the past, and Charles II has been restored to the throne. At Oxford's New College, fellow Robert Grove is found dead under suspicious circumstances, and a young woman stands accused. We hear from four witnesses: a physician hungry for fame, the son of an alleged traitor, the king's chief cryptographer, and a renowned Oxford antiquarian - only one of whom is telling the rather extraordinary truth. Who is it? Pears' skillful plot-weaving will keep you guessing until the final seconds. Download and start listening now!

BK_AREN_000112

Listener Opinions

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Rebecca | 2/20/2014

    " One of my favorite books. A murder mystery told from different points of view, each adding their own quirks to the story. Excellent! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Jscorse | 2/13/2014

    " If you like historical fiction you'll love this- in the vein of The Name of the Rose- worth a read for sure. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Annie Oosterwyk | 2/8/2014

    " Pheww! That was a long book. What kept me reading was the great writing and the fact that I love books where the same story is retold by multiple characters. Iain Pears remains one of my all time favorite historical mystery writers. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Yumi Petersen | 1/29/2014

    " My kind of book - historical mystery "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Old-Barbarossa | 1/19/2014

    " Rashomon style murder mystery set in Ye Restoration Olde Englande. Blood, mud, sinister cabals. Papist plotters, bigots, "enlightened gentlemen". What more do you need? 4 versions of events slowly shed light on things. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Sara Gran | 1/19/2014

    " If you don't like the first chapter of this book--I didn't, but I was at the beach with nothing else to read--keep going. It's a trick. Intelligent, moving, and lots of fun. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Jen | 1/13/2014

    " I haven't finished this one yet and might not so I'm just posting this now, since I've been reading it for weeks. It's long and slightly boring. It's a murder mystery set in England in 1600s (I think) and divided into 4 different sections. Each section is told by a different character, with different ideas about who did it. The problem is each section isn't labeled and it takes you forever to figure out who's talking and which character that was. They should have told the reader in the beginning somehow (like with a chapter index) who would be the 4 main narrators so you could really pay attention when you meet them the first time. There was soo many characters. It's just too long. I keep putting it down and reading other books then going back to it. But it's interesting, even fascinating at times. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Bpwoods Woodward | 1/7/2014

    " Awesome book. Gave me a new appreciation for literature set in medieval times. Very educational. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 astried | 1/4/2014

    " Wonderful. Even after finishing the book you still couldn't exactly sure which of the 4narrators is the one you could believe. Even Anthony Woods has some parts of his story you can't quite believe though I suppose his version is the covering most of the truth. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Norvus | 11/27/2013

    " Well-written, but no real plot. It was scholarly, but that can get to be a drawback. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Ginna | 11/11/2013

    " I didn't finish this book. It was totally unengaging. I just didn't care what happened. It's an interesting concept, telling the same story from 4 different perspectives but I think the author failed miserably to make the interesting concept into an book. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Aprile | 7/13/2013

    " It's hard initially to get into this book, but once it picked up, it got really good. A good read for someone with an interest in history "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Gerhardt Himmelmann | 7/6/2013

    " I thought this was going to be just a well written historical novel, but it turned out to be so much more! Pears twists the story around some really really clever plotting and brilliant characters. Surprises all the way through this one -- brilliant! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Jason | 5/29/2013

    " Nearly gave up on this after the first (of four) stories but glad I persevered as it turns out to be a corker. Loved it. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Michele | 9/24/2012

    " This is a very good story, and I love the way the author wove in real people and events, but it's just not 700 pages worth of good. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Peggy | 8/17/2012

    " Enjoyable, fun and a nice bit of historical fiction. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Jill | 8/1/2012

    " This is an excellent book, the best mystery I've read (and I love mysteries). It is a longer book but definately worth the time. There are a lot of characters to keep track of and a lot of great twists at the end. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Kristena West | 11/18/2011

    " One of the best reads in my life-time. He takes one on a journey that is indescribable. And added feminine studies too-boot! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Cindy Nelson | 10/13/2011

    " Great book for a thinking reader. Not light but fascinating history and story line. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Andrew Thompson | 8/21/2011

    " Skullduggery in Oxford in the 1600s. A compelling detective story set against the backdrop of post-Civil War England. Papists hidden at every turn. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jim | 5/16/2011

    " A long and entertaining historical mystery. I didn't know I liked them much, until I read this one. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Kathleen | 5/9/2011

    " One of my favorite works of historical fiction, with true to life events, involving the leading philosophers, scientists and doctors of 17th century London; struggling to shed light in the gloom of superstition and fear of sorcery. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Roberta | 4/29/2011

    " One of those rare combinations of fascinating story, and fabulous writing. Throw in the accurate historical references which allow me to feel like I'm learning something while being entertained and I'm sold. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 HKd | 3/31/2011

    " Brilliant! Slowly drew me in until I was utterly absorbed: history, mystery and science - I felt quite bereft when I finished it. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Cindy | 3/18/2011

    " Took me months to get through this. Took it to Italy where I planned to throw it in the canal, but did not. Part 3 (of 4) really dragged. Book club kept encouraging me and by the time I finished I could not have cared less! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 John | 3/3/2011

    " Well-done, suspenseful 17th-century setting and multiple viewpoints. I wondered not only whodunnit but how many things they dunn. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Isabelle | 2/21/2011

    " I liked how all the stories were connected and the different characters' perception of the same event. The story wrapped up nicely but I think it wouldn't have hurt to take out a couple hundred pages! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 astried | 2/16/2011

    " Wonderful. Even after finishing the book you still couldn't exactly sure which of the 4narrators is the one you could believe. Even Anthony Woods has some parts of his story you can't quite believe though I suppose his version is the covering most of the truth. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Mara | 2/15/2011

    " I could not finish this book...would like to hear what other people think of it. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Melissa | 2/13/2011

    " One of my all-time favorites! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Catherine | 2/10/2011

    " Solid mystery. I highly enjoyed the narrative structure... thought the plot, etc. was a little unoriginal. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Diane | 2/9/2011

    " This was my favorite of the Pears books so far. It has been critiqued as having been inspired by Umberto Eco's The Name of the Rose, which I am currently reading. I like deep mystery writing, which keeps the reader questioning each character and action. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Iain Pears

Iain Pears is a journalist and art historian with a doctorate in art history from Oxford. He is the author of numerous works, including seven detective novels in the Jonathan Argyll series, a book of art history, and the New York Times bestselling historical novel An Instance of the Fingerpost. He lives in Oxford, England.

About the Narrator

Paul Michael is an Audie Award-winning narrator. He has acted on stage, radio, television, and in feature films in Canada, Great Britain, and the United States. He has had leading roles in series and made-for-television movies and has guest starred in such series as VIP and Alias. He has been nominated for a Canadian Emmy (or Nellie) and has recorded over 150 audiobooks, including the international bestseller The Da Vinci Code.