Extended Audio Sample

Download An Instance of the Fingerpost Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample An Instance of the Fingerpost, by Iain Pears
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (10,138 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Iain Pears Narrator: Paul Michael Publisher: Macmillan Audio Format: Abridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Coming Soon! We're adding audiobooks daily and hope to make this one available for download very soon. Submit your vote below to let us know you really crave this title!
Vote this up! This audiobook has 3 votes

An utterly compelling historical mystery, in the tradition of Umberto Eco and John Fowles. The setting is England in the 1660s. Oliver Cromwell's short-lived republic is a thing of the past, and Charles II has been restored to the throne. At Oxford's New College, fellow Robert Grove is found dead under suspicious circumstances, and a young woman stands accused. We hear from four witnesses: a physician hungry for fame, the son of an alleged traitor, the king's chief cryptographer, and a renowned Oxford antiquarian - only one of whom is telling the rather extraordinary truth. Who is it? Pears' skillful plot-weaving will keep you guessing until the final seconds. Download and start listening now!


Listener Opinions

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by Rebecca | 2/20/2014

    " One of my favorite books. A murder mystery told from different points of view, each adding their own quirks to the story. Excellent! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by Jscorse | 2/13/2014

    " If you like historical fiction you'll love this- in the vein of The Name of the Rose- worth a read for sure. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Annie Oosterwyk | 2/8/2014

    " Pheww! That was a long book. What kept me reading was the great writing and the fact that I love books where the same story is retold by multiple characters. Iain Pears remains one of my all time favorite historical mystery writers. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Yumi Petersen | 1/29/2014

    " My kind of book - historical mystery "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations