Extended Audio Sample

Download A Finer End: A Duncan Kincaid / Gemma James Novel Audiobook (Unabridged)

Extended Audio Sample A Finer End: A Duncan Kincaid / Gemma James Novel (Unabridged) Audiobook, by Deborah Crombie
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (1,096 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Deborah Crombie Narrator: Jenny Sterlin Publisher: Recorded Books Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: December 2009 ISBN:
Coming Soon! We're adding audiobooks daily and hope to make this one available for download very soon. Submit your vote below to let us know you really crave this title!
Vote this up! This audiobook has 2 votes

Here are two spellbinding mysteries, one contemporary, and one ancient - that will challenge Superintendent Duncan Kincaid and Gemma James as no case ever has.

Glastonbury is a town revered as the mythical burial place of King Arthur, and, according to New Age followers, a source of strong Druid power. Something terrible and bloody shattered Glastonbury Abbey's peace long ago - and now it is about to spark a violence that will reach forward into the present.

Download and start listening now!

BK_RECO_003579

Listener Opinions

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Shala Howell | 2/17/2014

    " Reminds me of Elizabeth George in the way she spends time developing all of her characters, rather than simply doing the bare minimum needed to create a reasonable plot line for the mystery at hand. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Brigette | 2/16/2014

    " Like the characters in this series of books. Very realistic family situations juxtaposed on homicide detectives work. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Elizabeth | 2/4/2014

    " My favorite of all the novels in this series, which I am reading completely out of order. I love the setting of this one, though Crombie is always careful to carefully research her settings--and to provide lovely maps on the endpages of her books! Glastonbury/Avalon is fascinating, as are the characters who inhabit this version of the town. The menacing and inspiring Tor is central to both the action and the themes of the book, which are, as always with Crombie, nicely elucidated through the epigraphs to each chapter. The character development with Gemma is particularly fine in this one, though I missed seeing Kit and Toby--they were rather left out. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Virginia Walter | 1/8/2014

    " In this earlier title in the series, Gemma learns that she is pregnant and at the very end of the book tells Duncan Kincaid. In the meantime, they are taken to Glastonbury, a location with mythic and historical roots in medieval times. One of Duncan's cousins finds himself channeling the writing of a monk who had apparently lived in the abbey during a time of great turmoil. There are strange forces at work, but the murder itself -- of a local woman -- has an everyday motivation and perpetrator. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Suzy Black | 12/31/2013

    " This book is another of the Detective Kincaid series - they tend to all be a little bit the same, but some more likable that others - but I do like almost all of them. this one was one of the better ones - the reader had to stretch a bit to believe the psychic parts of this book. A few too many people had special powers to drag the past into the present, but overall an excellent read - one that kept my interest throughout. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Kristen | 12/17/2013

    " This is a great mystery series set in the UK. It has a bit of religious slant to it a tiny bit with supernatural/paranormal elements. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Cindy | 12/16/2013

    " This was the first I have read by this author. A little bit of the mystic in the mystery. Quite good. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Juliacatherine | 12/3/2013

    " loved it! the literary achievement may not be as serious as Dreaming of the Bones, but this book is enthralling- really. i read it in a weekend and fretted about the characters when i was forced to do something else. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Carolyn | 12/1/2013

    " Ridiculous. In the middle of an established series, the author suddenly interjects the supernatural into the fabula, and we're supposed to accept it as normal. Fortunately, this has not, so far, been carried out in the next three or four in the series. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jessica | 11/24/2013

    " A bit of a slow starter due to some heavy background, but builds up speed to a rousing finish. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Karen | 11/15/2013

    " I don't usually read mysteries, but this was an interesting connection with the town of Glastonbury, England since I am in the sister town of Glastonbury, CT. It will probably pique my curiosity enough to read another in the series. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Betty | 10/24/2013

    " Tried reading in 2010. Just couldn't get into this one. I like the series, but this one didn't do it for me. Maybe I'll try again another time. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Dallas Window | 9/27/2013

    " I found this book very disappointing. It was very hard to swallow the characters who were doing 'automatic' writing and painting. Far too much religious nonsense for me. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Stacey | 9/27/2013

    " Setting starts to be a bigger part of this mystery series, and the endpapers of the include a map of the environs. As usual Crombie masterfully advances the relationship of her principals while providing an evocative and satisfying mystery. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Shari | 9/23/2013

    " Another great book in the Kincaid/James series. I especially enjoyed the setting, having visited Glastonbury a couple of times. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Susannah | 8/15/2013

    " Great mystery in the vein of PD James and Elizabeth George. The action tends to have jumps of a couple months here and there, which was a bit unexpected, but it didn't take away too much. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 00who | 5/15/2013

    " This is one of my favorite books of the series. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Tracy | 5/12/2013

    " This is the it first of Crombie's books I've read. Once I got used to her fastmoving style I liked the book. The mystery itself was good. I'll go back and start with her first one ow to get the background on her recurring characters. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Villager | 2/15/2013

    " This is the 7th book in the Duncan Kincaid/Gemma James series written by Deborah Crombie. I didn't find it very engaging. Too much metaphysical and not enough mystery. I hope that the next book in the series gets back to basics. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Elizabeth | 4/26/2012

    " I really enjoyed this one! It's fiction, I can handle the mysticism. Nothing wrong with a little Arthurian fantasy in my opinion! Now I want to visit the Tor! I love her research she puts into all her books! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Michele bookloverforever | 3/15/2012

    " british police mystery interwoven with glimpses of their personal lives. interesting, involved and enjoyable. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Neil | 2/6/2012

    " This title in the Duncan Kincaid and Gemma James series was a little different from the usual detective story as it had some supernatural elements in it. However I enjoyed it very much. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Allison | 9/1/2011

    " Three and a half stars. Very good and convincing at adding in a slight supernatural element without tipping over into melodrama or unbelievability. Picking up the series after leaving it for a few years. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Linda | 3/20/2011

    " Deborah Crombie writes well and her mysteries are always a pleasure to read. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Kellyann | 3/11/2011

    " A generally really good mystery writer goes on a supernatural binge. It's like she'd been reading tons of Charles Williams and then wrote this book with no editing. Weirdness! "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Betty | 7/29/2010

    " Tried reading in 2010. Just couldn't get into this one. I like the series, but this one didn't do it for me. Maybe I'll try again another time. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Kt | 7/11/2010

    " not one of my favorites... didnt buy one of the central premises of the plot; so even though it was well-written, i wasnt able to enjoy it as much. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Carolyn | 5/3/2010

    " Ridiculous. In the middle of an established series, the author suddenly interjects the supernatural into the fabula, and we're supposed to accept it as normal. Fortunately, this has not, so far, been carried out in the next three or four in the series. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Shari | 12/24/2009

    " Another great book in the Kincaid/James series. I especially enjoyed the setting, having visited Glastonbury a couple of times. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Juliacatherine | 9/8/2009

    " loved it! the literary achievement may not be as serious as Dreaming of the Bones, but this book is enthralling- really. i read it in a weekend and fretted about the characters when i was forced to do something else. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Sandra | 7/4/2009

    " Be sure to read this series in order because, although each novel is a well plotted mystery, the main charm comes in the protagonists: the British detective and his assistants and their engaging stories and development. The morals, however, of the detectives are "modern,"so be warned. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Ann | 4/3/2009

    " This is number 7 of Deborah's English mysteries. I now feel as if I know Duncan, Gemma, and their friends. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Deborah Crombie

Deborah Crombie is a Macavity Award winner and a finalist for the Edgar Award and the Agatha Award, as well as a New York Times bestselling author. She has written more than a dozen novels and is best known for her contemporary mystery series featuring Scotland Yard’s Duncan Kincaid and Gemma James. Among this series is Dreaming of the Bones, which was selected as one of the 100 Best Crime Novels of the Century by the Independent Mystery Booksellers Association.

About the Narrator

Jenny Sterlin, winner of multiple Earphones Awards, has more than seventy audio titles to her credit, including Laurie R. King’s popular Sherlock Holmes / Mary Russell series. Before beginning her narration career, she helped found England’s experimental Living Theatre.